top of page
  • Writer's pictureKasia Michalik

Preparing for Your Century

A century may seem intimidating. Here are some things I did and learned during my first century!

Last year I really wanted to complete a century, but with my job in healthcare when COVID-19 hit, my cycling started to go by the wayside as I was working longer hours and having zero energy to put in the additional training.


Since I’ve been biking a bit more this year, I knew that I had to set aside a day to complete my 100. Originally the plan was to go up to Prescott for cooler weather and more scenic views, but the more I thought about it the more I realized that may not be the best idea for someone biking 100 miles alone for the first time.


I grabbed my Ride Spot app and planned out my route on my computer. Currently, Ride Spot doesn’t allow designing routes on a cellphone but making a route on my laptop was very easy. My favorite part of the route creator was that it had bike lanes built into the map, and it was free.


Once I was finished building a route I felt confident putting my plan into action and here are some things I learned while on my century ride.

Plan Your Route Accordingly: My plan for my first century was to stay in areas where water and food were within close reach. I didn’t want to bring a lot of things with me and I really wanted to feel comfortable knowing that if I need something, I could stop and get it. I was able to add in a stop at a coffee shop to grab a bite to eat and a cup of coffee and had a couple of nice visits with family members in their homes. If you plan your route check in with friends or family to see if you can recharge a bit at their house.


Decide on Company: I really wanted to do this ride alone. I enjoy group rides, but there are moments when I want to be alone in my thoughts. Because I am so busy with kids and work, I don’t have much time to myself, so when I get time, I want to cherish it. I wanted my first century to be all mine. If you want to ride alone, great! If you aren’t comfortable taking that on yet, that's ok! Do what makes you feel like you can kick the century in the butt.

Basic Maintenance: It is important to check your bike before you leave. Make sure your tires are at the right PSI. With my tubeless setup, I keep my front around 37 and back at 38. These numbers can vary widely depending on several variables like tire and rim setup and how much you are carrying. Make sure to figure out your bike's recommended range. Also, check your chain and lube it up before you go to make the ride and shifting easier. Bring a repair kit that includes a spare tube, patch kit, tire levers, and a small hand pump, or preferably CO2 inflation kit.


Extra Lights: I took my time on the route stopping at two family members' house. I started the ride at 4:30 a.m. and didn’t get home till after 6 p.m. I wasn’t on the bike the entire time but was moving eight of those hours with lights on. My front lights made it the whole way, but my backlight died. It might be time for a new light, but It’s important to keep an extra set on longer rides because you never know what kind of trouble you’ll get into and need more lighting.


External Phone Charger: I didn’t have one of these but if I didn't stop at two places where I could charge my phone I would have been in trouble, I wouldn’t have been able to reach anyone or track my mileage. With all of my apps, music, and podcasts, my battery was working on overdrive. I’m investing in a portable lightweight charger so I don’t have to worry about running out of juice on my phone next time. If you have one you love, send a message my way!


Snacks and Hydration: I love food, but I also intermittent fast most days during the week only eating between the hours of noon and 7p.m. But when I bike I need more calories. Typically I can do 20-25 miles on an empty stomach, but once those 25 miles hit, I start to feel it. On my century I brought a peanut butter sandwich, RX bars, Honey Stinger packs, yogurt and fruit/veggie packs. Yogurt helps me feel energized for some reason. I also stopped for coffee and a bagel which I ate with some almond butter on my ride. It helped me feel fuller and I was able to power through a large portion of the ride. I drank a ton of water. I probably went through nine bottles of water and electrolytes. I used Nuun hydration tablets as they are easy to carry and work well for me. There are many different electrolyte options and you should test some out to see what works best for you.


Pack Your Other Essentials: What are some things you can’t live without besides food, water and your helmet? I packed my GoPro, inhaler, Chamoise Butter, and sunblock. My essentials may not be what you require so make a list of what you think is most important and bring it with you!


Pace Yourself and Enjoy the Moment: I love music, so when I got on my bike I was excited that I was going to have 100 miles of music to listen to. I'm not sure if I wanted to be in my own thoughts, but I only spent about 40 percent of the time listening to music. I listened to some "Girls Gone Gravel" Podcasts, which really helped me through the hardest part of my ride, and tried to listen to a book on tape with no success. But I gave myself options and you should too. It’s a long 100 miles on a bike and variety is good.


After eight hours on a bike, I came home and rewarded myself with a hot tub soak and a Bubbly water because that’s what sounded good. I felt great and energized and am ready to do it again next time, maybe even with some friends.






7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page