top of page
  • Writer's pictureKasia Michalik

Together We Can Outride Anything

Outride is a nonprofit organization that helps break down barriers so all kids can have access to a bike and a place where they can ride safely.


I found out about Outride a few months ago when I started thinking about how I feel when I am on a bike. As a person who has never been able to turn my brain off, and likes to stay busy, I sometimes become overwhelmed.


I have always functioned on a little bit of organized chaos. I have never been able to just sit quietly, I've always been one to jump in, help out, sign up for things. My brain is always going 100 miles an hour and it's difficult for me to slow down.


That's really one of the reasons I started this blog. Not only do I feel passionate about biking and want to help others feel the happiness it provides me, but I needed something to keep me busy. When I finished my master's I was teaching at a community college on top of my regular full-time job. I decided that two jobs and three kids just wasn't enough. My brother always makes fun of me asking when I'm going back to school for my Ph.D. or starting another project. It didn't take long for me to fill that space with our current project "A Life Mas Picante."

Long story short, I stumbled upon Outride and loved their mission. I love that the organization marries biking and mental health, something that is so overlooked and stigmatized, especially in the United States.


Learning more about them I asked myself what do I want to Outride? There are so many things people probably want to outride, stress, anxiety, fear, loneliness, regret. Someone in a post once said "Zoom meetings." I wanted to Outride those too, Monday to Friday.


As I sat there thinking I came to the conclusion that I want to outride the clutte


r in my head. On my bike is the only place where I can turn off what is going on in my life, maybe not completely, but when I'm on my bike I focus on what's in front of me and everything inside becomes a little quieter. I turn off the chores, responsibilities, tasks, and to-do lists. My thoughts of "Am I a good enough, partner, mom, sister, boss, employee, friend," all fade away. On my bike, I am able to disconnect. Outside of my music and snapping photos along the way, nothing else stands in the way of my destination.


There have been days where I have a head full of jumbled thoughts and getting on my bike makes it all feel less overwhelming and that I can tackle things another day. I jump on and pedal to enjoy the outdoors, my family and friends, or alone time, and welcome the silence that tramples all the noise.


Now that you know what I would Outride, what will you outride?


Join Club Outride on Strava and ride with people around the world to #outridetogether, whatever it is that you want to outride! Find Outride on Instagram and give them a follow.


Outride's Mission:

BICYCLES HAVE THE POWER TO MAKE LIVES BETTER BEYOND WINNING RACES — THEY BRING PEOPLE AND COMMUNITIES TOGETHER, MOTIVATE US TO BECOME BETTER HUMANS, AND HELP US TAKE ADVANTAGE OF WHAT THE WORLD HAS TO OFFER. AT OUTRIDE, WE ARE COMMITTED TO BREAKING DOWN BARRIERS SO THAT ALL KIDS HAVE ACCESS TO BICYCLES AND SAFE PLACES TO RIDE. WE BELIEVE THAT BICYCLES NOT ONLY HAVE THE ABILITY TO IMPROVE THE HEALTH OF OUR YOUTH, BUT ALSO BRING THE POWER OF OPPORTUNITY, AGENCY, AND FREEDOM TO THOSE WHO HAVE ACCESS TO THE POWER OF TWO WHEELS.


**Photos designs have been taken from the Outride Instagram page.**

**Please note that this is not sponsored content, I just really love what the organization stands for and would love for it to spread to others."

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page