top of page
  • Writer's pictureKasia Michalik

Taking Your Gear Out for a Test Ride

Updated: Mar 23, 2021

Testing new gear is what this blog topic is about. People don't think how extremely important it is to test all equipment before adventuring out into the wild.


For most people, when they think of rice, they think of something to eat. When Aaron thinks of rice, he also thinks of food (especially stuffed into burritos) but he thinks, "Hey, this will work as a weight to test out some new equipment."


This past birthday Aaron got me a fancy new Osprey Renn Women's 50 L backpacking pack. We have been talking about taking longer backpacking trips, so a backpack was a must on my list of things to buy.


Since we live on the base of a beautiful mountain, and it's a perfect time of the year to take a hike, we did just that on a random Saturday morning. I looked around the house and we decided that loading the backpack with water and rice would work. About 18 pounds, 6 miles, and 30-plus stops to adjust the way the backpack fit and pressed into my body, I came home with minimal aches and pains.


People might think, it's just 6 miles and 18 pounds. Yes, but if you have a tear in the hip, a tear in the shoulder, a past L1 compression fracture, a bad knee and are lopsided from carrying kids on the right hip for the last 7 years (Chiro is working his magic), 18 pounds and 6 miles is a lot. The last time I hiked 6 miles with a pack on my back, I could barely walk the next day because the pack wasn't a right fit for me.

This Osprey is designed specifically for women, so it hits the right spots comfortably.


Here are a few points of why I love this pack.


It is lightweight. The last thing you want to do is carry more than you have to. It was awesome to find a pack that is on the lighter sidewhile still providing the space I needed to pack what I wanted.


It's affordable. I have looked for packs over the last few months and they are a bit above what I wanted to spend (or have Aaron spend). This was a budget-friendly option. With so many features, it's a steal.


It's comfortable, adjustable and ventilated. Like I mentioned before, I have had several injuries that have always made me stay away from long-distance, weighted activities. This pack is really adjustable to fit various body types and was comfortable to have on for the time I was using it. It also has a lot of pockets and storage to keep everything organized, which excites me!


Comes with a rain cover. Because you just never know. Although it rains one day a year in Arizona, if you are hiking for an extended amount of time, it's really great to have a rain cover to keep everything in your pack dry.


Versatile. The pack is great for overnights and weekend trips. It's good for new explorers and seasoned ones. You can pack things up if you are exploring locally or wanting to do international travel. It is affordable and user-friendly.


If you are in need of some help, message us so we can direct you to ways to get the right backpack for the right adventure!


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page