top of page
  • Writer's pictureKasia Michalik

Birthday Century to Tucson

An annual celebration has kicked off this year. A century ride to Tucson for my 38th birthday!


I turned 38 on October 30. To celebrate I decided to drag some of my friends and husband on a century ride from Sun Lakes (a suburb of Phoenix) to Tucson.


I have always loved my birthday, and moving to the U.S. made me love it even more because my birthday falls on the day before Halloween. From the first time I trick-or-treated when I was 8 and put on a witch costume, to this day, the holiday remains my favorite for many reasons.


I really wanted to do something different for my birthday rather than going out and doing the same old dinner, drinks routine. I wanted to accomplish something and 100 miles seemed right up my alley. As the second century ever (the first one was solo) I wanted to do it again, but this time with my friends!


We took off from Sun Lakes at 7 a.m. and headed for Tucson. The route was planned out really well thanks to Aaron. We didn't hit a lot of traffic and stayed pretty much separated from the noise of the cars.


Most of the road was paved, but we did come across a small section of gravel, which really got me excited since gravel has become my favorite.


The trip down to Tucson was great. I was surprised how good I felt after thanks to the motivation of my crew and my super comfy Rapha shorts. What was I doing without those in my life prior to this?


Have you biked a century yet? Do you want to or does it scare you? Let me know and check out my other century article where I talk about prepping yourself for one.




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page